The Rush Community Church of the Nazarene began in 1855 as a Baptist Church and was rebuilt in 1870. It was once again rebuilt in 1904, and at that time it became a Methodist church. There was a time that the church was closed, but with the leadership of three men, Dan Edwards, Clyde Sproul, and T. B. McMillen, it was reopened in 1927 as a community church. In 1952, under the leadership of Rev. L.D. Smith, it became the Rush Community Church of the Nazarene. Rev. Melvin Shoemaker was called as the first full-time pastor in 1954.
Rush Church still has a unique and compelling ministry to the community.